The Nooner #13: All Star Weekend update

Well, after a full weekend of All Star build-up events, it’s time for fanfest.JPEGthe real deal. But more on that in a minute. First, a quick recap of All Star Fanfest, which I attended Saturday.

FanFest is a great way to kick off your All Star experience, but it can also be a good daytime activity if you’re planning on going to the Home Run Derby tonight or the All Star Game tomorrow. Even though we’ve all been urged to get to the park early, FanFest starts at 9:00. You’ll have plenty of time to get in, see a bunch of great exhibits and baseball activities, and still be able to make the evening events with time to spare. Official details on FanFest can be found at the All Star Game website or you can read about my personal experience from Saturday in my InsideSTL column from yesterday.

I did make it down to the Futures Game and Celebrity/Legends Softball Game on Sunday…but after four hours of rain and milling through the crowd of thousands gathered in the Busch Stadium concourses, I’d had enough. So I went to a little Irish Pub/Sports Bar called Flannery’s on Washington Ave. and had a couple Smithwick’s drafts and a fish sandwich (and corn nuggets…which where incredible). Kudos to those of you that not only waited out the storm but stuck around for the events after the clouds lifted.

In a few hours I’ll be heading to downtown St. Louis for a little tailgating, the official Workout Day, and the Home Run Derby. And, actually, if you’re watching at home, you just might see me on TV. My tickets are in the right field bleachers straight up from the home bullpen at the right field bleachers.JPEGtop row and in the middle of the center aisle. I’ll be wearing the coveted powder blue #51 Willie McGee jersey you see in my profile, so I shouldn’t be too hard to miss. With all the lefties competing in the Derby this year, I feel like I have a pretty good chance to get a ball, and I’m taking my glove to the game for the first time since I was 10 years old. If you do see me tonight, stop by here and leave a comment about it! I’ll have a full report on the evening later tonight (or maybe first thing in the morning).

About ccr5150

writewritewritewritewrite

Posted on July 13, 2009, in Baseball Dailies, Nooners and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ll look for you! I’ll be watching the HR Derby. Have a great time!

    Julia
    http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com/

  2. Have fun I will be watchign for you! Please comment on my blog Cal’s corner
    http://balorioles.mlblogs.com/

  3. I hope you had a great time there! :)
    http://tribechick.mlblogs.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

