Christmas in February

What a week! Spring Training games have begun! But more on that later. Tuesday was the greatest day of 2009 so far, because the season tickets arrived!

 

02_26_3cropped.JPEG

After telling my girlfriend Sarah, I had to e-mail my buddy Scott The Cub Fan. Scott gets as giddy about baseball as I do. He asked me to describe my feelings of this glorious day, and here was my reply:

I actually didn’t get to open the box. I let Sarah do that since she pays for them. But she told me a few days ago that she got the shipping notification, so I knew it was coming. I was working from home and heard the UPS truck pull up. It was a lot like hearing the ice cream truck approach…you know it’s in the vicinity, but is it on your street or the next one over? I ran down the stairs like a kid who still wonders if Santa came last night, and found the box on the front porch. I actually did a pretty good job of not thinking too much about them all day; it was enough to know that they were here and all was well. But then I started wondering what games we had: How many day games? How many Saturday games? Do we have the Thursday day game on my birthday?

  

Then Sarah came home and all questions were answered. I sat twitching while she opened the box and flipped through the little book. And then she handed it to me. I hugged it like Robert DeNiro hugged the fake Mr. Jinx that Ben Stiller found at the animal shelter in Meet The Parents. Hopefully my expectations for the team this year don’t turn out to be as unrealistic as a cat with a spray painted tail.

Now, on to the game!

The St. Louis Cardinals opened Grapefruit League play yesterday with a 5-5 tie after 10 innings against the Florida Marlins in Jupiter, Florida. Blake Hawksworth started the game for the Cards, going 2 2/3 innings and allowing no runs on three hits. Rick Ankiel was 2 for 3 with 2 RBI, and Colby Rasmus was 2 for 5 with a walk and a run scored. Skip Schumaker went 2 for 4, scored twice, and played an errorless 2B. For more, see the full box score here. Today the Cardinals square off against the Baltimore Orioles in Ft. Lauderdale. Game time is 1:05 EST.

Chris

About ccr5150

writewritewritewritewrite

Posted on February 26, 2009, in Baseball Dailies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I can’t wait until I have the amount of money I need to start getting season tickets every year so I can feel exactly what you feel like, come this time every year. It’s like in that film with Jimmy Fallon, ‘Fever Pitch’ when he runs outside to the UPS truck, receives his tickets, and jumps in the delivery guy’s arms. I’ll semi know what it feels like to receive a lot of tickets this season, but nothing like your forty. Baseball season’s here baby!

    – Donnie
    http://donnieanks.mlblogs.com/

  2. timbatson@gmail.com

    what tickets are you most excited about? birthday game? you can’t just throw that out there and then not say…

    “tell me about the freaking golf shoes! “

  3. Did you get the tickets on your birthday? Inquiring minds want to know! Man, I can’t wait until I can afford season tickets.
    Jen
    http://ajroxmywhitesox.mlblogs.com

  4. I did, in fact, get the tickets on my birthday. I’m most excited about the Cubs games, of course, but the All Star Game is tops on my list this season.

    Jen – my girlfriend is a South Sider and big time White Sox fan. We’ll make it to at least one game at The Cell this year.

    Chris

    http://bird-brained.mlblogs.com

  5. You have season tickets? Wow. We are all jealous!

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  6. Hello. I’m Scott the Cub Fan. I will comment when necessary and defend my beloved Cubs to no end. But, I will also be objective and laugh at a good joke. But please, when abusing me (which any Cub fan should expect when his friend is writing a Cardinal blog) be more creative than “Cubs suck”. If that’s the best you can come up with, at least be creative about it like the snow writer. That was at least well, if not extremely overly, thought out.

  7. Jane – I have a half season. Eighty one games is really tough when you have to work 40-50 hours per week. Someday I’ll have a full season, though…and hopefully writing about it will be my only job!

  8. Cool! Sounds like you’ll have a lot of fun going out to the ballpark. I hope you throughly enjoy the tickets!
    http://kaybee.mlblogs.com

  9. redstatebluestate

    Lookin’ good on the MLBlog homepage! Those season tix look nice; let’s hope our birds don’t disappoint. Yeah?
    –Jeff
    http://redstatebluestate.mlblogs.com/

  10. I am very jealous. Even with the money, the wait in Boston for season tickets is long! Enjoy them and keep the girlfriend!

    Julia
    http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com/

  11. Jeff – thanks! I just about hit the floor when I saw that! And I really think the Cards are going to do some good things this year.

    Julia – I have a Boston connection who just might be able to get us tickets to a game @ Fenway this season. I’m hoping, anyway…

  12. Congrats on being the featured blog! Great story about the tickets’ arrival. I feel that way anytime I hear the big brown truck on our street. Hope you enjoy the season.

    Tiff
    http://tiffanihillpatterson.mlblogs.com

  13. I always remember the scene in ” Fever Pitch” where he walks out in the cold with basically only his shorts on to get his Season Tickets. I know I always have to be a bit contained when they arrive becuase I want to know who is on the tickets, and if they included anything extra that year.

    So far, every year there has been better stuff included in that great box of hopes and dreams. The best thing about having Season Tickets is you can beg off some of the boring things in life knowing you have a game that day. That is totally priceless.

    Rays Renegade

    http://raysrenegade.mlblogs.com

  14. The Mets face your Cards tomorrow. You’re going down! Can you beat 18 runs in 2 games?
    http://metsmainman.mlblogs.com

  15. Going gown like Carlos Beltran facing a sick Adam Wainwright curveball in the bottom of the 9th of Game 7? :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

